ieboturkson99

A great WordPress.com site

WAS JESUS RIGHT: DON’T WASH HANDS WHEN EATING

 I am sure as a believer there are some few parables or miracles in the bible that seems hard to believe or yet still makes you ask, “So did this really happen”? Don’t worry because such doesn’t make you an atheist or unchristian, is only part of the Christianity race, you can ask Gideon, Thomas, Virgin Mary and Abraham. There are things God can tell you, if care is not taken you are tempted to ask yourself “How can this be?”

Believing the miracle at the red sea, where the Sea was divided for the Israelites to match through wasn’t something difficult; believing that Jesus fed over 500 men with few loaves and fishes wasn’t any hard news.

However, I found one statement of Jesus very subtle, I wondered why he really said that. Do you remember where his disciples where accused of not washing their hands before eating? This is what Jesus said to justify the act: “Listen and understand. What goes into a man’s mouth ‘unclean’, but what comes out of his mouth, that is what makes him ‘unclean’. Matthew 15v10-11.

I was tempted to ask myself whether the saying; cleanness is next to godliness was a scriptural one or an earthly observation.

In my quest to find answers to why Jesus made this statement left me in a wonder land for 365 days and more, and  kept asking why Jesus will justify eating with unclean hands, I asked if the doctors knew this, why did they insist we washed our hands before eating. It only gave me excruciating pain that I never knew of this verse in my early days; because I would have given my father this quote all the number of times he was on my neck to wash my hands before eating.

As I dived deep into my solitary place thinking about the real meaning of this statement by Jesus and whether or not to accept it, a picture dropped into my mind, (I don’t know and I don’t want to be tempted to believe that it was the voice of the holy spirit, because not been in the right standing for some time now, I wondered if the holy spirit was still at my disposal.)

The picture of a mad person came into mind. Suddenly dozens of questions followed;

1. Have you ever met a mad person sitting on a table with his food at a restaurant before?

2. The last time you went for a dinner party did you come across a mad man?

3. Have you heard any mad person on a special diet or on a nutritional menu before?

 When all the answers to the questions seemed no, I was waiting to hear the next thing that will come up. To my amazement I was enlighten on why and what Jesus really meant when he said that what goes into a man isn’t unclean but what comes out from his mouth.

Mad people are always found at refuse points and seen busily picking up spoilt and decayed foods disposed of by people who claim to be sane. They eat everything they come across in the refuse bin, from spoilt fish to expired canned milk to all sort of things normal people will not eat. They never wash their hands when they come across such spoilt foods. As a matter of fact, sometimes we pity and sympathise with them when we see them eat the kind of food they eat.

No matter how hungry you the person reading this article will be, it will never push you to eat left over foods and spoilt foods disposed at the refuse bin, the stench alone will scare you off.

Nonetheless, the last time you went to the hospital did you see a mad person report to a nurse or doctor of stomach ache as a result of food poisoning? Do you know any mad person who owns a national health insurance card? So now the question is why is it that those (mad people) who eat all the decayed and spoilt things that sane people dispose off do not get sick but always healthy and rather, those who claim to know what is good, those who wash their hands with liquid soap and water rather get sick and die as a result.

Was Jesus right when he said what goes into a man does not make him unclean (sick, worried,)? I have discovered that what Jesus said was true. Whatever that enters you, is made whole or unwholesome by virtue of the mind. It is in your mind to think that someone who eats snakes is weird and unspiritual, wait until you travel elsewhere then you will also find out that your chief meat (chicken) which you enjoy every 25th December is also abhorred by some group of people.

What comes out of you when you eat snake, chicken, goat, or beef is what will do the judgement as to whether it was right to eat it or not. Today a lot of people have taken in pain, hatred, shame, chastisement and scorn, that does make you weak or unclean, rather what comes out of this hatred, shame, pain inside you will make you clean or not.

 If someone forced you to eat hatred, shame, pain, anguish and sorrow without washing your hands, don’t be perturbed, that doesn’t make you a mad person or a weak person, but be careful what you allow come out of you. The reason is that mostly know who is mad by what they say, be slow to speak, be slow to judge, be slow to react, by so doing, I am sure you will not be forcing people to eat without washing their hands.

As believers, let the pain and troubles we go through spur us to higher and unattainable heights, paying evil for evil is evil. Let it go, you have another chance by reacting differently to issues.

 uncle ebo heaven

sunson505@yahoo.com

 

Leave a comment